Landslide victory for BJP in Arunachal Pradesh assembly polls

The PM Modi-led BJP has won from a total of nine seats in Assam namely Gauhati, Autonomous District, Dibrugarh, Jorhat, Karimganj, Lakhimpur, Mangaldoi, Silchar and Tezpur. Congress president Rahul Gandhi lost his traditional seat in Amethi but was expected to win in Muslim-dominated Wayanad in Kerala while Mr Modi looked poised to sweep in Varanasi. While some surveys say that Congress might be able to win one seat out from under the BJP, others see a repeat of the Lok Sabha Election in 2014 with all the seats going to India's saffron party.

Narendra Modi and the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has secured another term in office after winning an ever larger majority than they did in the landslide in 2014.

In the next phase of polling on April 18, voting was recorded in Silchar, Karimganj, Dima Hasao autonomous district, Mangaldoi and Nowgong Lok Sabha constituencies of Assam besides Inner Manipur and Tripura East. In the second general elections held in 1957, the Congress won 371 seats out of the 494. Even as his party made inroads in a state where they have previously experienced close to no success, Chaubey lost to All India Trinamool Congress candidate Mahua Moitra by 63,218 votes. He is a legislator from Manikpur Assembly seat in the same parliamentary constituency.

What is significant is that even the vast majority of voters, who opted for the lotus symbol in the Lok Sabha, preferred the conch in the assembly.

"We have to admit that the BJP had a far stronger campaign than the Opposition", Lal Singh, a medical practitioner in Faridabad, said. This shows that despite a shift in favour of BJP in the Lok Sabha in certain areas the popularity of Patnaik remains, more or less, intact in the state. It is contesting three LS seats.

In Bihar, Maharashtra and Uttar Pradesh, where the BJP contested in alliance with other parties, the National Democratic Alliance received more than 50% vote share. The BJP has fielded candidates separately.

Newcomer Tana Hali Tara of the BJP won from Doimukh constituency defeating his nearest rival Nabam Vivek of the National People's Party (NPP) by 2, 385 votes. "This verdict is not for the state government".

The Samajwadi Party won five seats and its alliance partner Bahujan Samaj Party bagged 10.

The massive counting exercise began Thursday morning with early trends establishing the BJP's conclusive lead, making it evident that Modi's message, packaging muscular nationalism, security and Hindu pride, had worked wonders.

  • Leroy Wright