Oklahoma State softball makes NCAA Tournament

Kentucky will then follow with its opening game against (4) UIC at 2:30 p.m. ET.

The outright Pac-12 champions will play host to a regional at Jane Sanders Stadium, Thursday through Saturday.

The Super Regionals consist of a total of 16 teams at eight locations, all playing a best-of-three series for the right to advance to the national championship.

This is the 14th straight year for the Tide to host the regional.

Hosting an NCAA regional has always been the goal for these Gamecocks. The upcoming U.S. Open participant leads FSU with two victories this year, and he also owns three Top 10 finishes.

In the Seattle Regional, Texas will face Minnesota on Friday, May 18 at 8 p.m. CT on ESPN as its 19th overall regional appearance.

Arizona played 29 games against teams in the NCAA Tournament this season, going 16-13 against them.

Auburn will be joined on the course by host No. 2 Oklahoma, as well as No. 15 Arkansas, No. 23 Florida State, BYU, Navy, Nevada, North Florida, Pepperdine, Prairie View A&M, San Diego State, Sam Houston State, UMKC and Virginia.

Illinois-Chicago earned an automatic bid to the NCAA field by winning the Horizon League Tournament for the second year in a row. Blues forward Dimitrij Jaskin continued his hot tournament play with a goal and an assist for the Czech Republic in its 6-0 victory over France. The Sooners picked up a 1-0 road win over Tulsa earlier this season and beat the Golden Hurricanes twice last season in the regional final.

The Aggies face Arizona State for the third time this season.

Kentucky and Illinois-Chicago did not meet during the regular season.

The NCAA Tournament committee certainly left room for some second guessing. The Gamecocks last made the CWS in 1997. Individual session tickets are on sale at ticketmaster.com for $15.

  • Leroy Wright