Three more POPSKs in State soon

External Affairs Minister Sushma Swaraj told Union Petroleum Minister Dharmendra Pradhan, who hails from the state, in a letter that her ministry has made a decision to open three more POPSKs in Odisha.

Three more Post Office Passport Seva Kendras (POPSKs) will come up in Odisha, it was announced on Sunday.

Notably, 86 such centres at Head Post Offices have already been set up in the first phase of which 52 are now already functional.

Since coming to power, the NDA government has also opened 16 PSKs, with a priority given to northeastern states, Swaraj said.

Swaraj said, "I had received 77 PSKs as legacy".

The 11 new Post Office Passport Seva Kendras would be set up at Cuddalore, Dindigul, Namakkal, Perambalur, Pudukkottai, Ramanathapuram, Sivaganga, Tirupur, Villupuram, Virudhunagar and Kanniyakumari. "These will be in addition to four POPSKs announced by the ministry of external affairs in the first phase, an initiative undertaken jointly by the MEA and the department of post".

The External Affairs Ministry and the Department of Posts have taken the decision to utilize the Head Post Offices for delivery of passport related services to the citizens of the country.

Swaraj also inaugurated the online portal of the "Know India Programme" to make the entire process of applying, processing etc., by Indian diasporic youth living in "Girmitiya countries" for various programmes run by the MEA to facilitate a channel for these youths to indulge with the mainland. Find us on Facebook too! On an average, these offices handle 3,500 appointments per week.

  • Leroy Wright