Connor McDavid should win first MVP in shadow of NHL expansion draft

The 20-year-old had an incredible sophomore season, leading the league in points with 100 (30 goals, 70 assists) en route to the Oilers' first playoff berth since 2006.

Connor McDavid, the star center for the Edmonton Oilers, will appear on the cover of National Hockey League 18, publisher Electronic Arts announced today.

McDavid also won the Ted Lindsay Award, given to the league's most outstanding performer in a vote of his fellow players.

Pittsburgh centre Sidney Crosby and Columbus goaltender Sergei Bobrovsky were the other finalists for the award.

Connor McDavid said he was anxious about his speech. "There's a huge shift in the sport of hockey right now, where a new generation of young players are bringing more speed, skill and creativity to the game than we've ever seen", said Sean Ramjagsingh, Lead Producer, NHL® 18.

Thank goodness he acknowledged his teammates and that he'd trade every award for a Stanley Cup.

Along with the awards ceremony, the first expansion draft picks by the Vegas Golden Knights were revealed with veteran goalie Marc-Andre Fleury and forward James Neal perhaps the two biggest names acquired by the new franchise.

The league's Norris Trophy, which goes to the top defenseman, was awarded to Brent Burns of the San Jose Sharks. Eakin is a solid two-way center, and McNabb is a rising defenseman who broke through last season for the Los Angeles Kings. Anderson left the Senators during the season to support his wife, Nicholle, in her fight against throat cancer, but returned to become Ottawa's career victories leader.

The 6-foot-1, 170-pound Frazier has averaged 6.2 points, 4.4 assists and 2.4 rebounds in three National Basketball Association seasons with New Orleans, Philadelphia and Portland. Crosby was second behind McDavid in scoring this year with 89 points in 75 games, while Bobrovsky carried the Blue Jackets to 41 wins behind a.931 save percentage and seven shutouts.

Johnny Gaudreau took home the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy for tallying only four penalty minutes in 72 games. "I'm excited to play against him".

"I think I actually played him when I was younger, but you're not really knowing who anybody is when you're 10, 11-years-old", Matthews said.

"Playing hockey is not possible for me during the upcoming 2017-18 season", Hossa said.

Bobrovsky, who previously won the Vezina in 2013, is the first multiple-time victor since Tim Thomas of the Boston Bruins. Bobrovsky, the first Russian to win the award twice, and Tortorella played major roles in the Blue Jackets' revival for the best season in franchise history.

Matthews was the first Maple Leafs player to win the Calder since 1966 when it was awarded to Brit Selby.

Selke Trophy: Patrice Bergeron finds himself in the history books following Wednesday night.

NHL 18 will also feature the arcade-style 3v3 "NHL Threes" mode, and a completely new Expansion Draft in which you can build your own custom 32nd NHL team, choosing a jersey, mascot and arena.

  • Julie Sanders