CP NewsAlert: Leafs centre Auston Matthews wins Calder as NHL's top rookie

Having long since locked up the Art Ross Trophy, as the NHL's highest scorer, McDavid also picked up the Ted Lindsay Award, given to the player voted the league's most outstanding by members of its players association.

Burns' Norris victory may have caught some by surprise, however, and it was a close race between he and Erik Karlsson.

The Vegas Golden Knights' expansion draft also is part of the show.

It was quite the turnaround from a year ago, when McDavid missed half the year with an injury, the Leafs finished last overall, and none of the seven Canadian teams made the playoffs. Although he's only two years into his career, McDavid is already considered a generational talent by many - the kind of superstar that comes around maybe once a decade.

Edmonton Oilers' Connor McDavid poses before the NHL Awards, Wednesday, June 21, 2017, in Las Vegas.

Connor McDavid (2-to-13) will make his claim as the most valuable player in the National Hockey League. Only Crosby and Wayne Gretzky claimed the Hart as teenagers.

The game today is not as conducive to collecting the gaudy numbers that Gretzky and Lemieux posted, with the 400-goal seasons posted by Gretzky's Oilers, the 350 goals by Lemieux's Penguins, and the 278 regular season goals scored by the Stanley Cup champion Penguins this season.

At 20 years old, McDavid is the fourth-youngest victor of the Hart Trophy, and he proved that he's truly the start of a youth movement in the National Hockey League that should make everyone take notice. Much of the Oilers' success falls on McDavid's shoulders, as his 70 assists led the league by a mile and his 1.22 points per game pace also was tops in the NHL this season. Bergeron joined Hall of Famer Bob Gainey, who presented the award, as the only players to win the Selke four times.

Matthews was the no-brainer choice for the Calder after his 69-point rookie season for the Leafs.

The case for McLellan is similar, after leading his team to a 16-win improvement this season in his second year.

When asked to give a sneak peek at that roster before the National Hockey League awards show, Foley grinned and replied: "Can you keep a secret?"

Bettman also says he doesn't believe anything is "amiss" with the Chicago Blackhawks and Marian Hossa, who won't play next season because of side effects to medication for a progressive skin disorder. He's trying to become the fourth goalie to win the Hart in the last 50 years, joining Dominik Hasek (twice), Jose Theodore and Carey Price.

On the administrative end, David Poile of the Nashville Predators was named the General Manager of the Year and Blue Jackets coach John Tortorella earned the Jack Adams Award as the league's top coach.

Selke Trophy (best defensive forward): Patrice Bergeron.

Franchise mode is also seemingly being rebranded into Expansion Mode, in which you'll be able to take a hypothetical 32nd National Hockey League team from the Expansion Draft to a Cup-winning machine.

Burns became only the second defenceman in 24 years to score 29 goals, but Karlsson was just a touch more consistent and almost as potent with more challenging responsibilities for the Senators.

  • Arturo Norris