India arrests 15 for celebrating Pakistan cricket victory

"Pakistan had beaten India by 180 runs to lift the Champions Trophy in London on Sunday".

Talking particularly about the strategy for the final, he mentioned that the team carried the momentum gained from the previous wins and believed that if they perform the same way, they can win the final as well.

"When the (cricket) match started, the odds were in favour of India".

Sarfraz was showered with bouquets and given a traditional skull cap and an ´ajrak´ shawl, which is usually presented as a mark of honour.

"According to Amnesty International, the initial report by Madhya Pradesh police states: "[The accused] chanted "Pakistan Zindabad" in support of the Pakistan cricket team ...

"Pakistan is celebrating their biggest victory against their archrival".

Sarfraz came out on the balcony with the trophy and showed it off to fans, waving and making the victory sign with two fingers as the crowds outside threw rose petals.

Opener Fakhar Zaman, pacer Rumaan Raees and all-rounder Fahim Ashraf all made their ODI debuts in the Champions Trophy while 18-year-old spinner Shadab Khan has just played seven ODIs for Pakistan. After the loss, Sarfraz's uncle Mehboob expressed confidence the the Indian team will now make a strong comeback. "After the India (group) match I said to my boys, the tournament is not finished yet". "Nine boys were playing an ICC event for the first time and four to five boys were in the team for the first time, so I think it is a very good sign for the youngsters".

Archana wrote as her Facebook status that she woke up the morning after the match expecting a "soul-wrenching hangover after [Pakistan] pulverized [her] team yesterday", but instead, she found her family commending and appreciating the Pakistani team and players.

They claimed their third ICC tournament, having earlier won the 50-over World Cup in 1992 and the World Twenty20 in 2009. "This was the whole team's effort".

However, that was not the case as Pakistan put up a spirited performance to win the title.

  • Julie Sanders