Kohli, Dhawan, Bhuvneshwar in Team of ICC Champions Trophy

This was Pakistan's maiden victory in the International Cricket Council Champions Trophy, one of the major global cricket tournaments conducted by the ICC.

Kohli also said he backed his boys to chase in the title clash.

Waqar said the victory will help serve the cause of cricket at home where worldwide cricket is not being played for many years.

Only four of the eight participating teams - all semifinalists - find a place in the eleven of the Team of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017. A visibly upset Shami came down a few steps to confront the Pakistan fan. There's no one team on the box, so you have to accept losses, you have to accept that the other team has outplayed you and they've shown better skill than you, they've shown better composure in pressure situations than you.

Former skippers Misbah ul-Haq and Shahid Afridi also heaped praise on the Pakistan team.

Pakistan piled up an impressive 338 for four after being put in to bat and India's much-vaunted top order of Rohit Sharma, Shikhar Dhawan and Kohli were blown away by an inspired opening burst by Pakistan fast bowler Mohammad Amir.

Shockingly, people in Indian occupied Kashmir were seen bursting crackers to celebrate Pakistan's win.

Hasan Ali matched Amir's three, taking the wickets of MS Dhoni, Ravichandran Ashwin and JJ Bumrah.

Specifically pointing out the performance of Fakhar Zaman, Shadab Khan and Hasan Ali, Sarfraz said he was quite glad with the way they performed in the tournament and guided Pakistan to victory.

Players from the champions Pakistan dominated the squad with Sarfraz Ahmed named captain of the side.

Indian cricket team faced humiliating defeat at the hands of Pakistan in the final of the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 cricket tournament. Amir's arrangement means he will play County Championship fixtures for the current Division One leaders, as well as NatWest T20 Blast matches.

Except Zimbabwe's tour two years ago, Pakistan had played all of their "home" matches outside of the country since the 2009 terror attack on Sri Lanka's team bus in Lahore.

If Zaman led the batting charge, it was Mohammad Amir, who jolted India with his early strikes.

India captain Kohli conceded Pakistan were worthy winners and, while he claimed to be proud of his players, his admission that the new champions played with more passion was a damning indictment.

  • Zachary Reyes