Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind resigns

Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind has resigned from the gubernatorial post. The opposition is likely to nominate a candidate of their own choice.

President Amit Shah on Monday announced Bihar Governor Ram Nath Kovind would be the government's candidate for the country's top post. Congress leader Ghulam Nabi Azad declined to go into the merits and demerits of Kovind and did not say whether or not the opposition will field a candidate.

Janata Dal (United) chief and Bihar Chief Minister Nitish Kumar expressed happiness that the Bihar Governor would be the NDA's candidate for the President elections.

Samajwadi Party patriarch Mulayam Singh Yadav on Tuesday extended his support to NDA's presidential nominee Ram Nath Kovind, saying that he is a deserving candidate.

The BJP surprised one and all by announcing Kovind as NDA's pick for the presidential poll.

Mukherjee completes his five-year term on July 24.

This is Kovind in the Rajya Sabha in 2000, where he served from 1994 to 2006. Many said that he only has nodding acquaintance with RSS chief Mohan Bhagwat.

The voting for the presidents position is through a secret ballot, and party whip does not apply.

The presidential election is scheduled for July 17, 2017.

If elected, Kovind will be the second Dalit president after KR Narayanan. So somewhere it is a political fight or a contest. When we asked on whom they want to build consensus, they had no answer then.

There are also possibilities of the JD (U) (1.91%), SP (2.37%) and BSP (0.86%) coming on board, in which case the NDA will have the support of 65.98% of the electoral college, TOI reports.

"It was their (BJP's) proposal that they will get back to the opposition after zeroing on a candidate".

However, while it is unclear what Ayyub implied with the "worst bet" phrase, she took to the micro-blogging site once again to tweet and called Sharma's complaint a publicity stunt while asking if she should send a copy of her book on Gujarat riots, Gujarat Files, where "serious stuff" has been said about the BJP leaders.

The Election Commission of India (ECI) issued the notification in this regard and the process of the nomination has started that will continue till June 28.

  • Arturo Norris