Steve Smith frustrated after second-straight washout

Captain Steve Smith was frustrated by conditions at The Oval after Australia's Champions Trophy game against Bangladesh was abandoned.

Preview: Australia will look to improve their performance from the opening match when they take on Bangladesh in a must-win Group A contest at The Oval on Monday.

Chasing a target of 183 runs, Australia had reached 83 for the loss of one wicket after 16 overs.

Both the teams displayed poor bowling attack as Australia gave away 291 runs in 45 overs while Bangladesh conceded 308 runs. Having been saved from a potential defeat to New Zealand at Edgbaston in their previous match, Australia were left with two points from two games - but with destiny still in their own hands ahead of their last Group A fixture against England on Saturday in Birmingham.

Smith, whose side need a win against Bangladesh after their opener with New Zealand was a no result due to inclement weather, said the team had been told not to leave their hotel on Saturday.

Otherwise, if they lose tonight, they have to beat Bangladesh on Friday (NZT) and then hope England can beat Australia.

Starc said there was continued frustration among the bowling brigade about the white Kookaburra ball not swinging in games, as they had expected it would.

"The groundsmen, they perhaps could have shown a bit more urgency, being a big tournament", Smith said following the match.

Smith went onto emphasize on the fact that his team had to play well in order to advance further in the competition and treat every game like a final.

Smith was satisfied with his bowlers, who bundled Bangladesh out for just 182.

Australia vs Bangladesh is scheduled for a 1.30pm BST, 6pm IST, 10.30pm AEDT, 6.30pm Bangladesh time start.

"For us it's a must-win game".

"From our point of view, it is our job, we have got to keep playing cricket", Warner said.

Only opener Tamim Iqbal made any real impression with an impressive 95 that included three sixes and six fours.

One more defeat will mean that they may not figure in the top-two in the group.

Bangladesh: Mashrafe Mortaza (captain), Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Tamim Iqbal Mohammad Mahmudullah, Sabbir Rahman, Rubel Hossain, Soumya Sarkar, Taskin Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Imrul Kayes, Mehedi Hasan, Mosaddek Hossain, Sunzamul Islam and Shafiul Islam.

  • Julie Sanders