Game 4 referees clarify technical foul confusion

Draymond Green was seemingly ejected in the third quarter of the Cleveland Cavaliers' 137-116 Game 4 victory after picking up what most people thought was his second technical foul of the night.

Goble seconded Callahan's statements, saying that he should have done a better job of informing the table official that it was Kerr, and not Green, who was slapped with a technical foul. That appeared to serve him an automatic ejection; Green lost his mind, fans heckled him, and the public address celebrated his departure from the game with an announcement and music.

That tech occurred after Green and head coach Steve Kerr complained about a foul call that was assessed after Green struck Cavs guard Iman Shumpert in the face.

"The table informed us that it was his second technical foul", Callahan told the NBA's pool reporter after the game. However, with 6:18 left in the third quarter, Green was given a second technical foul, with the assumption being that he had been ejected.

Sam Amick, an National Basketball Association reporter for the USA Today, tweeted that the press information given to reporters had listed the foul was on Green in the first quarter. It seemed pretty cut and dry, to everyone except the officials. "In the moment, I thought I had verbalized to the table that the technical foul was on coach Kerr".

"I thought they called [the first technical] on Draymond", Kerr said.

Goble said he thought he had verbalized to the table that the initial technical was on Kerr, but said after watching the video that he should have done a better job with that. With a coach or trainer, we just verbalize and at that time we should listen to the PA announcer to who it is on. Despite the speakers in Quicken Loans Arena being jacked up approximately 20 notches too high, the referees did not notice that the wrong member of the Warriors was called for tech. "That's when we were informed by the table", said Callahan.

"It's insane to think that [Davis] thought that was my second technical foul, and I would get a technical foul for that, but whatever", Green said.

However, after a long period of on-court confusion, it was determined that Green was not assessed a tech in the first quarter to begin with. Earlier this week, he referred to Cavs fans as "rude" after an altercation between his mother and some Q spectators after Game 3 of the NBA Finals. Only then did the mistake get fixed and Green stayed in the game. Referees need to regain control, and practice transparency and consistency in their calls.

  • Julie Sanders