Tony Awards: 'Dear Evan Hansen' wins best musical

He had this inspiring message to young people out there: "The things that make you unusual are the things that make you powerful".

Spacey, who emerged as Tony host after several other celebrities turned the job down, laughs at himself in the 10-minute opening song, in which he grows comfortable with hosting duties as he connects all four best new musical nominees.

The cast, led by best actress nominee Eva Noblezada, performed "This is the Hour" and "I'd Give My Life For You". It also beat Come From Away for best original score, best book of a musical and best featured actress in a musical.

"Get up here you laggards!" he said to his army of investors as they stormed the stage of Radio City Musical Hall.

NO TECHNICAL SNAFUS: There were none of the technical or human accidents during the telecast - at least any non-Midler-related - that have marred previous awards shows, including the wrong victor announced at this year's Oscars and sound issues at the Grammys.

"Hillary continued to serve as a punch-line as Spacey's Bill Clinton out that Dear Evan Hansen star Ben Platt bumped Hillary off of Time magazine's "Most Influential" list, but he said she still topped the musical star in one area".

In drama, top acting honors went to Kevin Kline for "Present Laughter" - his third Tony - and to Laurie Metcalf - her first - for "A Doll's House, Part 2". But the lavish, unconventional spectacle based on a snippet of "War and Peace" which stars Josh Groban may see its best shot at a major prize for directing, awards watchers say.

Former Sex and the City actress Cynthia Nixon won her second Tony, this time for her work in Lillian Hellman's The Little Foxes.

Nixon was one of the most politically outspoken winners, giving a shout-out to people who refuse to just stand by and watch when bad things happen in the world.

Rebecca Teichman won Best Director for "Indecent, which recounts the bumpy journey to Broadway of Shalom Asch's controversial Yiddish play "God of Vengeance".

"Dear Evan Hansen" won big at this year's Tony Awards, taking home six trophies, including for best musical. "This is sacred ground to us and nothing compares to it", Paul said backstage in the press room when asked if winning a Tony or winning the Oscar (for writing the lyrics to La La Land this year) was better.

The presenters will be the regular mix of Broadway and Hollywood, including Orlando Bloom, Stephen Colbert, Tina Fey, Josh Gad, Taraji P. Henson, Scarlett Johansson, Anna Kendrick, Keegan-Michael Key, Olivia Wilde, Scott Bakula, Sara Bareilles, Glenn Close, Sally Field, Whoopi Goldberg, Mark Hamill, Allison Janney, John Legend, John Lithgow, Patina Miller, David Oyelowo, Sarah Paulson, Lea Salonga and Tom Sturridge.

  • Salvatore Jensen