UK prime minister makes Cabinet appointments

British Prime Minister Theresa May today appointed her close ally and long-time friend Damian Green as her first secretary of state as she unveiled her new Cabinet after the shock election results threw up a hung Parliament, forcing her to form a minority government.

The Prime Minister had already announced that her five most senior ministers - including Chancellor Philip Hammond and Foreign Secretary Boris Johnson - were carrying on in their current positions.

Chris Grayling continues as the Transport Secretary, No 10 said.

David Gauke, who had previously held the role of chief secretary to the Treasury, has now been appointed as works and pensions secretary with former Justice Secretary Liz Truss replacing him.

There had been speculation she could be axed altogether following fierce criticism from the judiciary over her failure to speak out in support of judges who were criticised over the Article 50 High Court ruling.

May is believed to have planned sweeping changes to her cabinet had she increased her majority, but given her weakened position following the election, she has been forced to keep changes to a minimum. Greg Clark will keep his post as the Secretary of State for Business, Energy and Industrial Strategy.

Justine Greening, who opposed the PM's policy of expanding grammar schools, remains as education secretary.

Green earlier served as work and pensions' secretary but being first secretary of state is the "deputy prime minister in all but name" title, reports the Guardian.

Jeremy Wright carries on as Attorney General and Brandon Lewis remains a Home Office minister although he will in future attend Cabinet.

  • Leroy Wright