Rain postpones men's French Open quarters, delays women's

In his quarterfinal, nine-time French Open champion Nadal faces No. 20 Pablo Carreno Busta of Spain at Court Philippe Chatrier. Speaking of his win, Nadal who celebrated his birthday on Saturday said, "I'm happy because Roberto is a very good player".

The French Open will have a star-studded Sunday lineup with defending champion Novak Djokovic and nine-time victor Rafael Nadal in fourth round action while third round games still need to be completed after rain washed out play on Saturday.

Muguruza was asked after the match about the cries of "forza" - Italian for "come on" - which Mladenovic had uttered after some of her opponent's errors. "It's a fact that I'm not playing close to my best".

The World No. 2 will take on sixth seed Dominic Thiem of Austria in his quarter-final match.

Djokovic also crushed Thiem in the semifinals a year ago in Paris. "We'll see. Obviously it's not an easy decision to make, but I will see how I feel after Roland Garros and then decide what to do next". This year, her fourth-round appearance isn't just a milestone for Cepede Royg but for her country: she is the first Paraguayan woman at this stage of a Slam since Rossana de los Ríos's fourth-round run at the 2000 French Open, and she is bidding to become the first ever Paraguayan woman in the quarterfinals of a Slam. Garcia, a qualifier, beat the No.3 seed Cornet 7-5, 5-7, 6-3.

The 31-year-old Nadal is chasing his 15th Grand Slam title and first since 2014.

Serbian ace Djokovic will be hoping the extra day of preparation helps him to get back into the groove.

He quickly moved 3-0 ahead in the second set and, although Djokovic initially showed some fight, it soon drained away.

He has lost just two men's singles matches in his glittering French Open career, to Robin Soderling (fourth round, 2009) and Novak Djokovic (quarter-finals, 2015).

"It was just not there for me today".

He finished Ramos-Vinolas off with a crosscourt forehand victor on his first match point.

Japanese eighth seed Kei Nishikori barely survived Korean Hyong Chung, advancing 7-5 6-4 6-7 (4-7) 0-6 6-4.

Defending champion Muguruza's takes on Kazakh Yulia Putintseva and Williams glides into the next round after her win against Mertens.

Novak Djokovic vs Dominic Thiem is the second match on Suzanne-Lenglen, with the first one startin at 2pm CET, 1pm BST, 8am ET, 5.30pm IST. "But at the same time when you are standing up against Novak Djokovic it's just a different animal in terms of pressure".

  • Zachary Reyes