Nick Clegg among biggest casualties on night of election shocks

Sean Kemp said the party's "bruising" recent disappointments mean he will continue to err on the side of caution, but he reckons his party would take the 14 seats they're forecast to win in the Ipsos Mori poll.

The Lib Dem leader also spent 27% of his time in Labour constituencies, making trips to seven Labour strongholds and three Labour marginals.

A party needs 326 seats to have an overall majority.

The exit poll for yesterday's election had the party now led by Tim Farron coming away from the election with 14 seats.

Deputy prime minister until the last election two years ago, Mr Clegg lost his Sheffield Hallam seat to Labour challenger Jared O'Mara, who won by more than 2,000 votes.

Some on social media appeared to be backing the embattled Mr Clegg despite the reports.

The Liberal Democrat first won the seat of East Dunbartonshire from Labour in 2005 at the age of 25 - at the same time becoming the first MP to have been born in the 1980s.

A glum looking Nick Clegg.

Clegg's shock loss comes after the SNP's leader in the House of Commons, Angus Robertson lost earlier in the evening.

The deputy leader of the SNP was ousted from his Moray seat - which he's held since 2001 - to the Conservatives' Douglas Ross by 18,478 votes to 22,637.

Here are eight big names who lost their seats after Britons cast their votes in the General Election 2017.

Tory Cabinet Office Minister Ben Gummer - who helped pen the Tories' disastrous manifesto - was defeated in Ipswich.

Mr Gummer reportedly claimed the Brexit outcome had made him "sick to the pit of my stomach".

Aid Minister James Wharton and Treasury Secretary Jane Ellison - author of the soft drinks tax - both lost too.

  • Leroy Wright