Overwatch Announces Double XP Weekend

The bonus experience period begins in all regions across all platforms on Thursday, June 8 at 1am BST (or Friday, June 9 at 00:00 UTC) and ends on Monday, June 12 at 11:59 p.m. PDT (or Tuesday, June 13 at 07:59 BST). What better way to mark the occasion than with new maps and lots of new loot? However for Overwatch players looking to burn through some XP quickly, you'll be pleased to learn that Blizzard will be having a double XP weekend from the 8-12th of June.

Overwatch continues to pile on the updates and bonuses this month, following a bumper May that included the popular Anniversary event.

One of the more popular additions is the new dancing emotes that can get any of the new heroes boogieing in the game.

The end of the double XP weekend will correspond with the Anniversary Event's conclusion so you won't have to worry about lost time. Chinese players will still be able to obtain new loot boxes regularly in-game as well by leveling up or completing weekly arcade events.

The XP bonuses from the double XP weekend will stack with group bonuses, applies to time spent in matches, match completions, consecutive match completions, backfilling, victories and medals.

If you're a fan of Overwatch then you'll want to check out these beautifully crafted Overwatch themed PlayStation 4 and Xbox One controllers.

Still, though, not everyone is convinced or consoled by this, with many still asking for the Overwatch dance emotes to become permanent items. "It's been an incredible year, and we're so thankful you were a part of it".

  • Arturo Norris