UK, UofL named NCAA baseball regional hosts

Arkansas also has recent experience with Missouri State, defeating the Bears in the Super Regional in 2015 to advance to the College World Series. Those winners move on to the College World Series in Omaha, Nebraska. In his 18th season at the helm of CCSU, Hickey won his 500th game at Central with Sunday's win in the NEC Championship game.

One day after Iowa won the Big Ten's baseball tourney, the conference placed five teams in the 2017 NCAA Baseball Tournament for the second time. Southern Miss did not face the in-state rival Bulldogs this season, but were 2-0 against US, a team that it played twice in last year's Tallahassee Regional.

The Hurricanes had won eight of their last 12 games, including two games this past weekend to make the semifinals of the ACC Tournament, but early season losses to Rutgers, Dartmouth and FIU hurt their hopes to continue the streak.

Play begins Friday in 16 regionals, with seven conferences represented among the host schools.

The entire 64-team field will be revealed at 11 a.m. Monday on ESPN2. The regionals are scheduled to be conducted from Friday, June 2, to Monday, June 5 (if necessary).

This is the Cavs versus the Patriots... with Dallas Baptist on a 6-game winning streak - including winning 10 of their last 11 - and fresh off winning the Missouri Valley Conference tournament. USC finished the season at 35-25 and RPI of 31, but a 13-17 SEC record and upsets in other conference tournaments around the country, kept the Gamecocks from receiving an at-large bid.

It will be the first time in 14 years that the Golden Eagles have gotten to host a regional in Hattiesburg.

Game 3 - Game 1 loser vs. The 2017 Lubbock Regional will be the first time Tech has faced any of the three schools in postseason play.

Game 2 - No. 1 Arkansas vs. No. 4 Texas Southern (20-32), 3:30 p.m., SECN No. 2 Southeastern La. The Cardinal boast a 40-14 overall record and placed second in the Pac-12 with a 21-9 record.

Any remaining tickets will be sold on-site beginning three hours prior to the first game on Friday, June 2, at Cliff Hagan Stadium.

  • Julie Sanders