Oregon St. No. 1 national seed for NCAA baseball tournament

"It's a streak that's unmatched in any sport in NCAA history, so to be part of that and be part of that with coach [Ron] Fraser is an honor".

The victor of the Arkansas-ORU game will face either Missouri State or Oklahoma State in the second round. The Golden Eagles earned an automatic bid after finishing the season 40-19 and winning the Ohio Valley Conference Tournament.

Other ACC teams are North Carolina, Louisville, Florida State and Wake Forest.

Arkansas is one of four SEC schools selected to host a regional, along with LSU, Florida and Kentucky.

Stanford (40-14) and Southern Mississippi (48-13) are the other teams most heavily discussed with United Kingdom getting one of the last national seeds.

Last year's NCAA champion, Coastal Carolina, did not make this year's field. DE went 4-0 at the Colonial Athletic Association (CAA) tournament to capture its first conference title in the CAA.

Selection committee chairman Scott Sidwell, the athletic director at San Francisco, said Miami, Connecticut (33-25), Old Dominion (37-21) and SC (35-25) were the first four teams held out of the tournament.

Miami lost a number of talented players to the major league baseball draft in 2017 and was hit with numerous injuries. Meanwhile, they were followed by the seven other national seeds.

"Looking at their resume, they had some metrics that were very good, " Sidwell said.

For Clemson this is a win because they are hosting a Regional. Texas Baseball has to start their NCAA Tournament run by navigating a hard California grouping starting Friday against UCLA.

The National Seeds all came from four conferences: Big 12, SEC, ACC, and PAC 12, which is interesting. Host Long Beach State will face fourth-seeded San Diego State.

Although the Tigers will be playing at a familiar place, it will nevertheless be a tough tournament. MI (42-15), 1 p.m. The Rebels are 32-25 and have an RPI of 37 and are considered one of the teams on the bubble.

All of the Winston-Salem regional games will be televised on WatchESPN.

Tournament play will begin on Friday with 16 regionals kicking off. Winners will advance to eight super regionals that are best of three. In 2015, UVa. would go on to win the baseball program's first College World Series title after starting their run in Elsinore, Ca.

  • Julie Sanders