Sun Belt announces divisions for 2018 football season

A third-straight day of heavy rains have washed out Wednesday's schedule at the 2017 Sun Belt Baseball Championship in Statesboro.

With the Aggies and Vandals leaving after 2017, the Sun Belt will be broken into two football divisions based on geography to help minimize travel expenses and keep natural rivalries intact. The West Division will consist of Arkansas State, Louisiana, Louisiana-Monroe, South Alabama and Texas State.

The East division will feature Appalachian State, Georgia Southern, Coastal Carolina, Georgia State and Troy.

A format taken from several of the Power Five conferences around the country, the Sun Belt conference will also host its own title game.

Over the course of some recent meetings, Sun Belt coaches and administrators approved a number of items. In a statement released by the Sun Belt late Tuesday, the conference expressed its desire to play as many games on Wednesday as possible. "Our membership has come together to form something special at the Sun Belt Conference".

The conference also announced it will be implementing a collaborative replay system akin to the SEC. The Southeastern Conference has specifically utilized the setup, including having officials in a centralized area to look at replays from games and assist officials in the stadium making decisions.

With that change, Arkansas will play either Mississippi State or Georgia at 9:30 a.m. on Thursday morning.

Let's not forget about the impact this will have on Sun Belt baseball next year.

  • Julie Sanders