Scott Dixon, Dario Franchitti robbed at Indianapolis Taco Bell

Last night at 9:40, pole victor Scott Dixon, three-time Indy 500 victor Dario Franchitti, and Dixon's wife Emma Davies-Dixon were at the drive through at the Taco Bell in Speedway when they were robbed at gunpoint.

The robbery occurred just hours after Dixon won the pole for this Sunday's race at the Indianapolis Motor Speedway.

The Indianapolis Metropolitan Police Department arrested two juvenile suspects in connection to the incident.

According to an IMPD report, "The victims stated 2 (black males) robbed them at gunpoint and fled north on Berwick (Avenue) on foot".

Dixon's teammate Tony Kanaan told reporters Monday that he was supposed to be with them Sunday night when Dixon went out to buy food for a number of drivers. As they waited in the drive-thru with their windows down, a teenager used a gun to demand their wallets and cellphones.

"You don't expect that to happen, especially here", Kanaan added.

Former IndyCar and Indy 500 champion Dario Franchitti was in the vehicle with Dixon when two teenagers held the Chip Ganassi Racing driver at gunpoint.

Mr Dixon was with British-born former IndyCar champion Dario Franchitti at the time of the robbery.

The option Dixon chose was a Taco Bell at 3502 West 16 Street.

The incident happened less than a mile from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway in Indiana.

"I did enjoy it the session - at one point this morning I didn't know if we were able to go out because we changed the engine".

Nevertheless, even without the mistake it would been unlikely to be enough for pole after Scott Dixon posted the quickest Indy 500 pole time in 21 years.

With qualifying decided by the average speed over four laps, that cost Alonso not just on lap one, but also lap two.

"This is a big day for us", Dixon said.

Scottish racing driver Dario Franchitti has been robbed at gunpoint at a Taco Bell drive-through restaurant in the US.

That was Dixon's lone Indy 500 win in 2008, but this is his third time on the pole, the other in 2015.

Franchitti is a four-time IndyCar Series champion and three-time Indianapolis 500 victor.

  • Zachary Reyes