Arizona State wins 8th NCAA women's golf title

Luke Donald won the men's individual NCAA title in 1999, but no Northwestern golf team has won a national title.

Linnea Strom was able to clinch the team victory with her third match win in three rounds with a 5 and 3 victory over Stephanie Lau.

NCAA individual champion Monica Vaughn delivered the dramatic shot that kept the Sun Devils alive in the rain-delayed semifinals against Stanford. But Vaughn won the 18th hole to square her match and then won on the 19th hole.

When they got back onto the course this morning, Vaughn won the par-5 18th hole when she almost holed her chip for eagle. "I'm not going to give up.' I went out and fought to the bitter end", Vaughn said. Lau made a long putt for eagle on the 11th hole, cutting Strom's lead to one. Mehaffey held a strong advantage over Sarah Cho throughout Monday's match, going 4-up through the first nine holes and cruising to a 4&3 win.

NCAA Champions! Way to go @SunDevilGolf So much fun watching @GolfChannel this afternoon.

In the final, Arizona State was to play either USC or Northwestern, which were still completing their match this morning. Roberta Liti won three straight holes to start the back nine and won, 5 and 4, over Mao.

Arizona State captured its eighth women's golf championship today, beating Northwestern. Kacie Komoto won the final three holes to extend her match against Muni He of Southern California, but then Komoto three-putted the 19th hole from 40 feet and lost. This was the first one for our program.

In Tuesday's quarterfinals, Vaughn and her teammates became the first squad to sweep a match since the NCAA went to using the match play format a few years ago. Then, she was the spark plug for the Sun Devils in the match play. "We knew at the beginning of the year that this team had it in them to win a national championship".

  • Larry Hoffman