ICC Champions Trophy: Manish Pandey in Indian cricket team; Rohit Sharma returns

India have finally announced their 15-man squad for the upcoming ICC Champions Trophy, and while the consistent performers have been rewarded with a place in the spot, a few cricketers have been unlucky to miss out.

Suresh Raina, Dinesh Karthik, Rishab Pant spinner Kldeep Yadav and fast bowlers Shardul Thakur have been kept as standby.

India squad for Champions Trophy: V Kohli (c), S Dhawan, R Sharma, A Rahane, MS Dhoni (wk), Y Singh, K Jadhav, H Pandya, R Ashwin, R Jadeja, M Shami, U Yadav, B Kumar, Y Bumrah, M Pandey.

India begin the defence of their trophy against Pakistan on June 4 at Edgbaston followed by games against Sri Lanka and South Africa, which are live on Sky Sports.

Champions Trophy will be played in England from June 1 to 18.

The BCCI is furious over the ICC's decision last month to amend rules so that less money and power is held by cricket's major powers - England, India and Australia. The fans have a lot of expectations from him and we are sure that Rohit Sharma will definitely score big in the ICC Champions Trophy, 2017.

Indian cricket team will prepare for the ICC Champions Trophy 2017 with two warm-up matches.

"I have some good memories of the tournament and I had a great one the last time we played there", Dhawan said.

Yuvraj Singh is included in the squad led by Virat Kohli, as is star spinner Ravichandran Ashwin, who has recently been struggling with a hernia.

"We respect IPL but in the longer format, we have to also consider the English conditions that we are playing in. Ashwin's injury was not that serious and he merely required some rest". MSK Prasad, the chairman of selectors, rated him as a key batsman in crunch situations and said he could not remember even a single day in the last 10 to 12 years when Dhoni was bad behind the stumps.

Manish Pandey, who is now representing Kolkata Knight Riders, last played for India against New Zealand in October 2016.

  • Julie Sanders