Exit polls predict BJP sweep in Delhi civic polls

The final tally of votes came in just before midnight, as a ward in south Delhi witnessed "extremely brisk voting" late in the evening. The 2012 MCD polls had registered a 53.23 per cent turnout.

"If this (BJP sweep) is what the exit polls are saying, it is clear that the EVMs have been tampered with and these fake exit polls are being put out to prepare a ground for the rigged results".

Together with the Congress, Kejriwal's AAP might have to settle down at 4-7 seats if elections to the Delhi legislature were held now, the extrapolated data show. Votes will be counted on April 26.

"Not only I managed to sing, I also dusted and cleaned and pruned hedges and twigs at my residence", Tiwari said. At least 42 per cent of the 1.32 crore electorate had exercised its franchise when polling ended at 5.30 pm. The overall voter turnout stood at 54 percent; nearly same as that 2012 when 53.9 per cent polling was witnessed. 93 votes were polled by people belonging to the other category.

Following a sluggish start at 8 AM, voting gradually picked up and became fairly brisk as the heat waned towards the afternoon.

"Kejriwal told the AAP workers to be ready for a movement if exit poll results for the MCD elections come true", a party source told IANS. What is SEC doing? "The EVMs are not working in polling stations".

Last month, the Election Commission, noting violation by media houses of its fiat, had recommended them to keep away from publicising exit polls till a particular period during assembly elections in five states.

There were no reports of violence.

Bhartiya Janata Party (BJP), Indian National Congress, and Aam Aadmi party are the three major, main and top contenders here.

A total of 13,022 polling booths at 770 places were set up.

"If the chief minister of Delhi has raised some questions on EVMs, and if it has even a bit of truth, then the commission should look into the matter and ensure that the trust of people in the electoral process does not get hit", Jaiveer Shergill of the Congress said. The voting in two wards were cancelled due to death of the candidates.

The exit polls on Monday predicted that the BJP will win 220 of the 270 seats that were contested. ABP-C Voter claimed that BJP will get 218 out of 272 seats, while AAP would get only 24 and Congress, which was hoping to make a comeback would get only 18-seats.

  • Leroy Wright