Steve Perry joins Journey for Hall of Fame induction

Stepping up in his place is none other than former Late Show host and noted Pearl Jam super fan David Letterman.

Folk icon and activist Joan Baez, Journey, Electric Light Orchestra, Tupac and Yes all entered the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame at Friday's ceremony.

Letterman's favorite Pearl Jam song is "Yellow Ledbetter".

His wife, Jill, was teary-eyed in the audience at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn as fans continued to cheer. "This is proof. And I use that analogy because, in regards to climate change, because it can be done, but here's the thing, we don't have 108 years to wait", Vedder said.

Tributes were also paid to 1986 Hall of Fame inductee Chuck Berry, who died last month aged 90, with ELO playing one of his best known hits - "Roll Over Beethoven".

Enormous roars were heard from the crowd every time the camera focused on the band and lead singer Eddie Vedder, Rolling Stone magazine reported. Band members have said they're open to the idea but are leaving it up to Perry to decide.

"These guys in Pearl Jam were something more than a band".

According to WKYC in Cleveland, Ohio, Snoop credited 2Pac with being the person responsible for getting the Dogg to smoke blunts when he was growing up.

In case there was any doubt to whom she was referring, she ended her rendition of Swing Low, Sweet Chariot with the line "carry me - you, us, even Donald - home".

Much to attendees' delight, Perry walked on stage at Brooklyn's Barclays Center for his first appearance with the band since 2005, although he did not perform. "I've never seen a band like that in my life".

The ceremony also included an honor for Chuck Berry, who was the very first artist inducted into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. "There was one instrument that flew above, that was the magic guitar of Neal Schon". "I know Neil Young was supposed to be here and people are saying".

One of the night's most anticipated performances belonged to Journey.

Guitarist Nile Rodgers will be given the hall's Award for Musical Excellence, the Hall of Fame said on its website.

  • Salvatore Jensen