NCAA announces three NY cities picked to host NCAA Tournament games

The list of events included men's basketball tournament opening-weekend games in Greensboro in 2020 and Raleigh in 2021, as well as a women's basketball tournament regional in Greensboro in 2019.

It continues a "basketball renaissance" for Columbia, which saw the women's basketball team win its first national championship and the men make the Final Four for the first time ever.

"We have worked on this for the past year and I think our track record from hosting in 2006, 2010 and 2015 spoke for itself", said Alan Verlander, executive director and chief operating officer for the Jacksonville Sports Council. "And I'm also proud that we're going back".

Announcements of bid winners for the NCAA's next four-year cycle, which begins with the 2018-19 school year, were made Tuesday afternoon. Tampa was awarded a regional for 2020. "Even worse, the NCAA has inexcusably gone back on its promise to ensure all championship games are held in locations that are safe, respectful, and free of discrimination". Municipalities that have banned taxpayer-funded travel to North Carolina include California; Washington state; Minnesota; New York City; Los Angeles; Chicago; San Francisco; Seattle; Washington, D.C. The last time Rupp Arena hosted the men's NCAA Tournament was 2013. UNF hosted a regional past year.

2019 also will mark a return of men's tournament action to sites that have not recently hosted the event.

The city submitted 55 bids for the 2018-2022 academic years, said Kathy Nelson, Kansas City Sports Commission President and CEO. On April 7, NBA Commissioner Adam Silver announced that Charlotte is eligible to host the NBA All-Star Game in 2019.

The proposal for fencing was to hold the event at the Prime Osborn Center.

"I'm proud of the league's stance on opposing HB2 and announcing that we were not going to play the All-Star Game under those circumstances", Silver said.

Some more good news for United Kingdom is that Indianapolis will host a regional in 2020 at Lucas Oil Stadium. Florida was awarded the second most with 51, while IN totaled 41, the third highest.

  • Julie Sanders