Ruling Congress retains Nanjangud, Gundlupet Assembly seats

-The ruling Congress also emerged victor in Karnataka's Gundlupet seat.

The bypoll was necessitated as BJP MLA Gyan Singh got elected to the Lok Sabha in November past year from Shahdol in a by-election.

So far, the BJP is leading in MP, Rajasthan, Assam; Cong (2 seats) in Karnataka, Trinamool in West Bengal.

-In Karnataka, as per latest update, Congress' Kalale N Keshavamurthy is leading by over 15,000 votes against former BJP minister V Srinivas Prasad in Nanjangud. Here's the final vote share between two main parties. The BJP candidate was CS Niranjan Kumar.

The Assembly constituencies where by-polls were held on Sunday are Rajouri Garden in Delhi, Littipara in Jharkhand, Nanjangud and Gundlupet in Karnataka, Dholpur in Rajasthan, Kanthi Dakshin in West Bengal, Ater and Bandhavgarh in Madhya Pradesh, Bhoranj in Himachal Pradesh and Dhemaji in Assam.

A total of 74,742 votes have been counted in ten rounds and the counting is on amid tight security arrangements.

Party's candidate KN Keshavamurthy defeated his nearest rival Srinivasa Prasad of BJP from Nanjungud seat by a margin of 21,334 votes.

The eight round of counting in Nanjangud has Congress candidate Kalale Keshavmurthy with 44,671 votes and BJP candidate Srinivas Prasad trailing with 28,962 votes.

263 voters opted for NOTA.

Karnataka Chief Minister Siddaramaiah received a major boost in the run up to the 2018 state polls with the Congress party winning two assembly seats in Siddaramaiah's home territory in bypolls held on April 9.

The seat fell vacant following the death of BJP stalwart and former minister Ishwar Dass Dhiman, who won the seat six times in a row since 1990 and now his son Dr Anil Dhiman has retained the seat. Congress finishes second, AAP a distant third. The by-polls were a prestige battle for both the ruling party and the opposition BJP ahead of assembly polls next year.

  • Leroy Wright