BJP wins Rajouri Garden by-poll in Delhi

There are total 17 rounds or counting and with only six rounds left, the BJP had 30,401 votes, Congress had 21,339 and AAP had 7,177 votes.If the trends hold, it would be a shock setback for the AAP, which swept Delhi with 67 out of 70 seats. Congress Channdela with 17290 votes second after 9th round of counting.

Most of the results will be out by noon, said an election official. In Karnataka, the Congress is ahead in both Nanjangud and Gundlupet, seats it held. Keshavamurthy had contested the 2013 Assembly polls on a JD (S) ticket.

Polling took place in two Assembly constituencies each in Karnataka and Madhya Pradesh, one each in West Bengal, Assam, Rajasthan, Jharkhand, Himachal Pradesh and Delhi on April 9.

The BJP appeared headed for a victory in the Rajouri Garden assembly constituency after the end of fifth round of counting, relegating the incumbent AAP to the third position.

The BJP has won the Rajouri Garden assembly bypolls in Delhi with a comfortable margin over the Congress which finished as the runner up.

BJP also won bypolls in Madhya Pradesh and Himachal Pradesh.

"We have made proper security arrangements for the counting of votes".

Sirsa, who belongs to NDA ally Akali Dal and contested in BJP symbol, and Chandela had contested in the 2015 too but lost to Jarnail, who rose to limelight after he threw a shoe at the then Union Minister P Chidambaram at a press conference in protest against Congress giving seats to anti-Sikh riots case accused.

The saffron party is trailed by Congress and Arvind Kejriwal led AAP.

Delhi's Rajouri Garden: BJP candidate Manjinder Singh Sirsa leading by 1011 votes.

  • Leroy Wright