IPL-10: Pune aim to mend ways vs Daredevils

Glenn Maxwell scored a rapid 20-ball 44 not out, and added 79 runs with David Miller (30 not out) to wrap up the game in his first appearance as the full-time captain. In the next game, he hit 66 off just 29 balls, also at the top of the order.

Former India and Pune Supergiants captain Mahendra Singh Dhoni seems to be enjoying his stint as a player in the IPL as he showed off his dancing skills, attired in the RPS uniform with fellow team mate Ben Stokes watching his every move intently.

Pune Supergiant, on the other hand, will aim to capitalize on their highly impressive start against Mumbai Indians.

The Kings XI had done well to restrict RPS to 163 for 6 in their 20 overs critically nipping out in form batsmen Ajinkya Rahane (19) and Steve Smith (26) for relatively little damage. Dhoni became the first-ever Indian cricketer to play 250 T20 games, a feat in which he was able to trump Suresh Raina (246).

Elaborate security arrangements have been made for the Indian Premier League (IPL) match between Kings XI Punjab and Rising Pune Supergiant to be held at the Holkar Stadium in Indore on Saturday. Ashok Dinda, Daniel Christian and Stokes looked ordinary with the new ball and if they are to make a mark in the tournament, the trio need to fire in unison with the ball. But then, KXIP are used to the underdogs tag, so they will hope to be one of the teams in IPL 2017 that slips under the radar.

The 27-year-old also praised South African leg-spinner Imran Tahir for putting the brakes on Mumbai's scoring rate with three quick wickets. His home team, RPS shared a tweet to applaud the cricketer's journey.

Batting first, Maxwell had had a terrible 2016, averaging 3.83, scoring his runs at a strike rate of 82.14, and only managing 23 runs in seven innings.

Earlier, Mayank Agarwal was done in by an in-swinger from Sandeep Sharma, who bowled wicket-to-wicket and altered his pace. Overshadows Dhoni totally. Captains innings.

Sandeep Sharma was the pick of the bowlers with two wickets, while Patel, Natarajan, Marcus Stoinis and Swapnil Singh chipped in with one wicket apiece.

  • Julie Sanders