Here Are The Winners Of The 2017 Pulitzer Prizes For Journalism

One bright spot for digital media was BuzzFeed News, which on Monday earned its first finalist nod from The Pulitzer Prizes.

Other big prizes went to David A. Fahrenthold of The Washington Post for National Reporting, for his work "casting doubt on Donald Trump's assertions of generosity toward charities"; The New York Daily News and ProPublica "for uncovering, primarily through the work of reporter Sarah Ryley, widespread abuse of eviction rules by the police to oust hundreds of people, majority poor minorities"; and to the New York Times both for International Reporting and Feature Writing, for their "coverage of Vladimir Putin's efforts to project Russia's power overseas", and C.J. Chivers's feature story on a Marine's postwar descent into violence.

Matthew Desmond's "Evicted: Poverty and Profit in the American City" has won the Pulitzer Prize for general nonfiction.

(E. Jason Wambsgans/The Chicago Tribune/Columbia University via AP). The winners of the 2017 Pulitzers were to be revealed at 3 p.m. Monday at Columbia University. The event post showcased the Pulitzer Prize winners, hours before the winners were officially announced. His will established Columbia University in NY as administrator of the prizes and also bestowed an endowment on the university to establish its School of Journalism.

David A. Fahrenthold won the prize for national reporting, with the judges citing stories that examined Trump's charitable foundation and called into question whether the real estate magnate was as generous as he claimed. Fahrenthold went on to dig into much of Trump's past, even discovering what resulted in finding the infamous hot mic incident in which Trump bragged about grabbing women by the genitals.

Peggy Noonan of The Wall Street Journal earned the commentary prize for connecting readers to the "shared virtues of Americans during one of the nation's most divisive political campaigns".

Operating in the glare of the 2016 presidential campaign, David Fahrenthold of The Washington Post took the national reporting award.

American journalism's most distinguished prizes also recognized work that shed light on worldwide financial intrigue and held local officials accountable.

"Thanks to this investigation, NY now sees how an extremely muscular law, combined with aggressive policing, combined with a lack of counsel, combined with lax judges produced damaging miscarriages of justice", Daily News Editor in Chief Arthur Browne said.

"Winning the most prestigious honor in journalism is humbling", said Neil Chase, executive editor of the East Bay Times and The Mercury News.

The New York Times staff won the worldwide reporting prize for articles on Russian President Vladimir Putin's efforts to project Russia's power overseas, a particularly pertinent story given US intelligence conclusions that Putin's government actively tried to influence the USA election in Trump's favor.

The same newspaper's C J Chivers won the feature writing award for his piece detailing a United States marine's post-war descent into violence. In his speech to colleagues, Chivers thanked and apologized to his family for the "toll reporting has taken on his personal life", an editor at the Times, Dan Saltzstein, tweeted.

Editorial Writing: Art Cullen, The Storm Lake Times.

Cullen, 59, says he feels vindicated that the information was released.

"We're here to challenge people's assumptions and I think that's what every good newspaper should do", he said.

International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy and the Miami Herald for the Panama Papers, a series of stories using a collaboration of more than 300 reporters to expose the hidden infrastructure and global scale of offshore tax havens.

Editorial Cartooning: Jim Morin, Miami Herald. He also won in 1996.

Investigative Reporting: Eric Eyre, the Charleston Gazette-Mail.

A massive fire at a Fruitvale district live work space has reportedly left an unconfirmed number of people dead died at an East Oakland work space, authorities said.

Hilton Als, a theatre critic for The New Yorker, won in the criticism category, with judges praising how he strove to connect theatre to the real-world, "shifting landscape of gender, sexuality and race".

Boston Globe journalists were finalists in two categories, local reporting and criticism.

The book examines the events that unfolded starting in September 9, 1971, when almost 1,300 prisoners took over the Attica Correctional Facility in upstate NY to protest years of mistreatment.

Colson Whitehead's "The Underground Railroad", a novel about slavery which combined liberating imagination and brutal reality, has won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction. Playwright Lynn Nottage won her second drama Pulitzer, for "Sweat".

As is usually the case, legacy news organizations cleaned up at The Pulitzer Prizes this year - the overwhelming majority of prizes and finalists were from newspapers and wire services. Public service award winners receive a gold medal; the other awards carry a prize of $15,000 each.

  • Salvatore Jensen