Pulitzer Prizes in journalism and the arts set to be awarded

Columbia University's Graduate School of Journalism announced the 101st annual Pulitzer Prizes Monday in NY.

National Reporting: David Fahrenthold, The Washington Post.

Peggy Noonan of The Wall Street Journal for columns during one of the nation's most divisive political campaigns.

The New York Times staff for coverage of Vladimir Putin's efforts to project Russia's power overseas.

Feature Writing: C.J.

Art Cullen of The Storm Lake Times for editorials that challenged powerful corporate agricultural interests in Iowa.

Times spokeswoman Eileen Murphy wouldn't confirm it had any advance word that it had won any Pulitzers. "Rather, we are in the midst of a revolution", with new partnerships, technology and media taking the field in new directions, prize administrator Mike Pride said.

International Consortium of Investigative Journalists, McClatchy and the Miami Herald for the Panama Papers, a series of stories using a collaboration of more than 300 reporters to expose the hidden infrastructure and global scale of offshore tax havens.

Previous year the Tampa Bay Times and the Sarasota Herald-Tribune won the prize for investigative reporting for revealing the "escalating violence and neglect in Florida mental hospitals and laid the blame at the door of state officials", the judges said. Chivers of The New York Times.

Local Reporting: The staff of The Salt Lake Tribune.

Editorial Cartooning: Jim Morin, Miami Herald.

There are 14 categories for reporting, photography, criticism and commentary.

Feature Photography: E. Jason Wambsgans, Chicago Tribune.

Seven awards also recognise fiction, drama, history, biographies, poetry, general nonfiction and music.

The Pulitzers began in 1917 after a bequest from newspaper publisher Joseph Pulitzer.

The Associated Press won last year's prize for public service for reporting on abuse in the seafood industry that helped free 2,000 slave labourers.

  • Salvatore Jensen