Walker and Fowler criticise decision to penalise Thompson at ANA Inspiration
- Author: Julie Sanders Apr 05, 2017,
Apr 05, 2017, 10:31
A television viewer with a keen eye for the rules has cost American golfer Lexi Thompson a major title and more than $200,000.
"On Sunday afternoon, the LPGA received an email from a television viewer, saying that Lexi Thompson did not properly replace her ball before putting out the 17th hole during Saturday's third round of the ANA Inspiration". That infraction is worth a two-stroke penalty.
"It is unfortunate with what happened, I did not mean that at all, I had no idea that I did it". Unbelievably, she birdied the hole and then picked up another shot at the 18th to get to 14 under and force a playoff with So Yeon Ryu.
After almost two hours of agonizing over video of the moment, LPGA Tour rules official Sue Witters got the unpleasant job of informing Thompson about her penalty after she left the 12th green. You helped me push through those last holes so thank you for always believing in me.
As a result, the PGA Tour began placing rules officials in a trailer with a TV monitor for every tournament, a slope that has proved so slippery that no putt at Augusta National could match it. I didn't expect it, ' she said.
The 22-year-old U.S. Olympian is the third major contender to be hit with a perplexing penalty for a violation of golf's stringent rules in the past year.
Thompson had led by two shots going in to the final round and was visibly distraught, but somehow pulled herself together to bounce back with a birdie on the 13th hole for a share of the lead.
We all learned a lot about Thompson - who signed autographs for fans for a half hour after losing in the playoff - and we all got another chance to learn about the ways in which golf needs to look at its rules.
Fowler was perturbed, like pretty much everyone who plays or follows the game, by what transpired Sunday in the final round of the ANA Inspiration, the first major on the LPGA Tour schedule.
Thompson bounced back immediately and drained a long-range birdie at the 13th to retain a share of the lead, before cancelling out a gain at the 15th with a bogey-five at the next.
"Viewers at home should not be officials wearing stripes", tweeted Woods. "It's just true class from Lexi, taking that". I did not intentionally do that.
After receiving the email, LPGA Tour rules official and annoying brat who reminds the teacher that she forgot to assign homework Sue Witters leveled the penalty, one day later. If not, let's go on with our lives. "I'm incredibly proud of not only the way you handled it, but the way you played".
"Unbelievable. really need to change and do something about people being able to call in!"