Trivendra Rawat has potential to fulfill Centre''s dream for U''Khand: BJP

BJP's central observers, Saroj Pandey and Narendra Singh Tomar, are likely to arrive in the city tomorrow morning to hold a meeting with the newly-elected MLAs and take their views on the matter, party sources said.

Ahead of his swearing-in ceremony, Rawat paid tributes at Shaheed Smarak here.

Rawat will be sworn-in as Uttarakhand Chief Minister at Dehradun's Parade Ground.

Before the elections the writ of two leaders - Harish Rawat as Chief Minister and Kishore Upadhyaya as the state unit chief - ran large in the state.

The BJP won with a clear majority in the state with 57 seats in the 70-member Uttarakhand Assembly, thereby ousting the Congress that managed to win just 11 seats this time.

The BJP formed its first government in Uttarakhand in 2000 with Nityanand Swami as the first Chief Minister.

The 56-year-old BJP leader, who holds a masters degree in journalism, is now in-charge of the party's Jharkhand unit.

The BJP central leadership is faced with a double dilemma - selection of a Chief Minister from at least six aspirants and naming ministers as there can not be more than a dozen.

After his election as the legislature party leader, Rawat promised to work towards Prime Minister Narendra Modi's goal of eliminating corruption and poverty. The party's parliamentary board had empowered BJP president Amit Shah to name the Chief Ministers in these States.

Rawat had lost Doiwala seat in a bypoll to Congress's Hira Singh Bisht in 2014, a defeat widely attributed to the infighting in the party.

His RSS background also appeared to have stood him in good stead and helped him enjoy the trust of the BJP leadership. A year later, Shah appointed him as deputy in charge of Uttar Pradesh for the 2014 Lok Sabha polls.

Speaking to ANI here, Congress leader Pradeep Tamta said, "Uttarakhand people unprecedentedly supported Prime Minister Modi, but he did nothing for the people of the state in the past three years". Swami was replace by BJP's B.S. Koshyari in March 2001. Senior leaders like Bhuwan Chandra Khanduri, Bhagat Singh Koshiyari, Vijay Bahuguna and Ramesh Pokhariyal Nishank could also be considered, feel some.

  • Leroy Wright