Five Pakistani cricketers barred from leaving the country

Suspended cricketers Mohammad Irfan, Sharjeel Khan, Shahzaib Hasan and Khalid Latif will appear before Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) on Monday to record their statements regarding the Pakistan Super League (PSL) spot fixing scandal.

Interior Minister Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan directed FIA officials to carry out a thorough investigation against the five players.

Federal Investigation Agency (FIA) on Monday started investigating the spot-fixing scandal that emerged during the second edition of Pakistan Super League (PSL).

Furthermore, Jamshed was arrested by the National Crime Agency in February and remains in Britain but has been bailed until April.

In a letter, FIA asked the ministry to prevent the tainted players from travelling overseas till the investigation is completed. The statements of other cricketers facing suspension will be recorded tomorrow. The PCB, however, distanced itself from the FIA's inquiry as the board had only written to the FIA requesting assistance in obtaining forensic information from mobile phones in connection to the PSL case.

Speaking in his TV show, the Chairman PSL said "after the decision, FIA have the prerogative to investigate if the players have broken any law of the country". Nasir said there should be zero tolerance policy against the five and any cricketer who is involved in spot-fixing should be severely punished.

"The PCB's investigation will continue with regard to any questionable activity by any player and player support personnel as it carries on with its mission of eliminating the menace of corruption from cricket." the board said.

The PCB has formed a separate three-member tribunal which includes a retired high court judge and a retired general to conduct its own inquiry against Sharjeel and Latif. Irfan and Shahzaib had not yet responded to the charge sheet.

Sharjeel and Latif, who were suspended during the opening week of the PSL for suspected links with an worldwide fixing syndicate, face a minimum five years' ban.

  • Leroy Wright