Manipur CM confident of winning floor test today

"We (BJP-led NEDA government) have 33 legislators and Congress 27 MLAs (in a 60-member House)", he said.

The BJP, which made giant strides by securing 21 seats in the recently held polls, formed the state government with support of four MLAs each of NPP and NPF, one LJP MLA and one each lawmaker from Congress and Trinamool Congress.

Responding to a query raised by media persons, Biren maintained that there is a need to ascertain when were designated camps of NSCN-IM opened in some hill areas of Manipur and if there was any agreement with the State Government on the matter. On March 8, addressing an election rally in Imphal, prime minister Narendra Modi said, "No blockade will be allowed once the BJP comes to power".

Under the terms agreed upon is that the state government will release all arrested UNC leaders and take back cases related to the blockade against them unconditionally.

Governor Najma Heptullah appointed BJP legislator V Hangkhalian as Pro-Tem Speaker.

The blockade was imposed by the United Naga Council on 1 November to protest against the creation of seven new districts by the erstwhile Okram Ibobi Singh-led Congress government in the state.

The State Government would pay extra attention to this matter and all efforts would be invested to restore hill-valley unity, Biren added.

The protesters had cut off the two main highways - NH2 and NH 37 - depriving the state of essential commodities.

The joint statement said the next round of tripartite talks would be held within a month at political level. Paramilitary forces were also mobilised in the state after incidents of violence.

Amid speculation in the ruling party that former Union minister K V Thomas could replace Mr Singh as general secretary in-charge of Karnataka, post the fiasco in Goa, his colleagues are debating whether he will be able to shore up the numbers in the event of a fractured verdict in the state next year.

For the trust vote today, the BJP claims it has the support of the National People's Party and the Naga People's Front, each of which has got four legislators.

The Congress, which has won the most seats, 28, could not gather the support of three more legislators to make the 31-seat majority mark.

  • Leroy Wright