BJP wins trust vote in Goa Assembly, Manohar Parrikar remains chief minister

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP)-led government in Goa smoothly won a crucial Supreme Court-mandated floor test+ today with 22 votes in favour of it in the 40-member Assembly.

Jaitley also cited several precedents to support the decision of the Governor, including the 2013 verdict of Delhi Assembly polls where the BJP won 31 seats but the Aam Aadmi Party, with 28 MLAs and with the support of Congress, was invited to form the government.

In the 40-member House, the Congress has 17 MLAs, followed by the BJP (13), MGP (3), GFP (3), NCP (1) and Independents (3). However, the Congress challenged in the Supreme Court the move by the governor to invite Parrikar to form the government, and the apex court ordered an immediate floor test, instead of one 15 days after Parrikar took oath.

Although it was easier for the Congress to win majority with just four seats more to go for a total of 21, the BJP was far swifter in reaching out to other winning MLAs. We accept it. Our fight is against BJP's ideology; what they did in Manipur and Goa is exactly the ideology we are fighting against.

Parrikar, who stepped down as Defence Minister, was sworn-in as the chief minister+ of the coastal state for the fourth time on Tuesday evening. A full-fledged allotment of portfolios will take place in April, once the Budget session is completed, Parrikar added.

Parrikar was first elected to the Goa Assembly in 1994.

When asked if that means he is resigning from the party, Rane said: "I will resign in a day or two from the Congress as well as an MLA". Gandhi said that in elections, there are ups and downs, hence it is wrong to say the party performed badly. "Rane should explain what he was doing with Parrikar in a hotel", Singh said.

BJP president Amit Shah, other national leaders, Assam Chief Minister S. Sonowal, Assam Finance Minister Hemanta Biswa Sarma and others are expected to be present at the swearing in ceremony.

After a hectic political game on Sunday, BJP claimed to secured 11 additional seats to its 21 to gain a majority in Manipur and form a government, however, late on Sunday night NPP took a u-turn and offered its 4 seats to Congress.

  • Leroy Wright