Congress accuses BJP of subverting democracy in Manipur

Earlier, BJP national general secretary Ram Madhav said, "We have been able to come to an understanding with the NPP and LJP in our bid to form the government in Manipur". The NPF and NPP has 4 MLAs each while LJP has one. The evening was no less dramatic as important Congress MLA Congress T. Shyamkumar, elected from Andro, surprised everyone by visiting the Raj Bhawan with BJP leader Himanta Biswa Sarma and offering a letter of support to the BJP led combine.

Imphal: A day after the Manipur election results that threw up a hung assembly in the state, BJP general secretary Ram Madhav on Sunday said the National People's Party, Lok Janshakti Party (LJP) have extended support to the party to form the next government.

While, the Congress which won 27 seats, has claimed the support of TMC and an independent MLA as well, therefore taking their tally to 30 as well. The Congress has won or is leading in 28 constituencies, and the BJP in 21. It is to be seen whether he will support the Congress or support the BJP by breaking the popular perception that Muslims are traditionally against the BJP. According to reports, Mr. Uddin was taken away in a private chartered flight.

While the BJP is tightlipped about its chief ministerial candidate for Manipur, sources said that BJP spokesman N. Biren had emerged as the frontrunner in the race.

Congress needs three more seats to reach the magic figure of 31. With the defection of Mr. Shyamkumar, the number of Congress MLAs will come down to 27 from 28. "Later, when some people wanted to meet him, they were denied entry by the CISF", Congress MLA Yengkhom Surchandra Singh told The New Indian Express.

A BJP spokesman said that discussion on formation of a BJP-led government will be held with its Central leaders of the party including Prakash Javadekar who is the election in-charge of the party for Manipur will be arriving in Imphal tomorrow. "What was the logic behind it?" he asked.Manipur witnessed a nail-biting contest between the BJP and Congress. The NPP, a regional party founded by former Lok Sabha Speaker PA Sangma, had said it would decide by the evening whom they would support. Ibobi was on Sunday elected the leader of Congress Legislature Party.

  • Zachary Reyes