Big Ten tournament bracket: Ohio State earns 11 seed, will face Rutgers

IN and Ohio State both finished the conference season with a record of 7-11.

Following a shocking upset to nemesis Myles Martin last night, Bo Nickal took care of business in the consolation bracket, beating Emery Parker of IL 8-2 and last year's 184 runner-up TJ Dudley of Nebraska 14-9 with a a slick six point move in the third period to take third place. "I've had two matches over the span of 12 hours and the biggest thing has been getting myself ready to go with these long breaks". Micic struck first against sixth-ranked Zane Richards, scoring on a slick counter early when Richards tried to finish a single leg, but gave up a single leg at the third-period buzzer to go to overtime, where he stacked up the Illini wrestler to get the fall - just his second of the season - at the 7:59 mark. They knocked off Nebraska and Iowa before being clipped by Purdue in the third game. They'll face Rutgers, who finished last in the conference.

"I'm really proud that the three guys who have qualified punched their ticket by wrestling their way in and not waiting for at-large selection and that's something else that we can hang our hat on and feel proud of". "I can tell it's the end of the year just because of how things have been going".

"It's time to finish and get it done", said Gilman, who will wrestle Nebraska's third-seeded Tim Lambert in the finals.

Kemerer advanced to the finals with a 4-3 win over No. 6 Brian Murphy of MI. He kicked out for an escape as time expired to earn a rematch against Penn State's top-seeded Jason Nolf in the finals.

Nolf was pretty dominant, too, against old friend Michael Kemerer of Iowa, but wasn't able to secure bonus points in an 8-2 win over a high-quality foe.

OSU scored 139.5 points as a team to claim the top spot while Penn State placed second with a score of 130. "This is a great tournament and I'm excited to go out and let it fly".

The Hawkeyes finished third in the team race with 112.5 points. The event gets underway at 10 a.m. ET on Saturday, with the preliminary, quarterfinal, semifinal and wrestleback matches taking place in Sessions I and II. The Huskers claimed the No. 12 seed through conference tiebreaker procedures, while Penn State represents the No. 13 seed. The championship matches follow at 2 p.m. BTN will televise the finals.

  • Larry Hoffman