Hall Accepts David Bowie's Brit Award

The 29-year-old soul star beat off competition from Anohni, Ellie Goulding, Lianne La Havas, and Nao to win her fourth BRIT Award.

Actor Michael C Hall paid a moving tribute to the late star as he accepted Bowie's British Male Solo Artist award, stating "If David Bowie could be here tonight.he probably wouldn't be here tonight".

Later, the band looked elated as they were honored with the award for Best British Group!

"David's kindness, generosity and enthusiasm will forever inspire me to be a better man", he said.

His former Wham! bandmates Andrew Ridgeley, Pepsi and Shirlie, made an emotional speech, saying: "His attractive voice will live on forever as a gift to us all".

Last year, unimpressed viewers flooded Twitter with the hashtag #BritsSoWhite, referencing the fact that only four of the 48 nominated acts were from a non-white background - but the line-up for 2017 looks very different.

The 34-year-old rapper performed Shutdown from his breakthrough album Konnichiwa at the ceremony, but viewers at home were blocked from hearing certain sections from the chorus.

Also up for an award from beyond the grave is gravel-voiced Canadian songwriter Leonard Cohen, nominated for Best International Solo Artist.

From performances by Katy Perry and Bruno Mars, to a sweet, Coldplay tribute to George Michael, there was no shortage of must-see moments from the show.

Capital is backstage at The BRITs 2017 with Roman Kemp hosting his evening show live from the event at the O2 Arena on Wednesday evening.

Organizers responded by expanding the diversity of the voter base of 1,000 music-industry figures. "It does in hindsight feel a bit unusual that it was something that wasn't promoted as much".

"But I also think now we've got some real stars happening in that genre, it makes a lot of sense now".

They missed out on on the Best Artist video award with their entry Hair, which also features Sean Paul. "If it wasn't for our friendship, we wouldn't still be going", said Jade Thirlwall.

  • Salvatore Jensen