BMC Election 2017 Results: Ward-wise split of seats won (corporators)

A total of 55.28 % of voter turnout was recorded - making it the highest turnout for any elections since 1991.

Early trends show that Shiv Sena is leading in 77 seats, followed by the BJP and Congress. Sena candidates in South, Western and Central Mumbai have a comfortable lead over the BJP. The fact that Congress has been going ahead in over 14 seats may be credited to the BJP-Shiv Sena fallout despite them having campaigned way less that the other parties. The BMC is controlled by the Shiv Sena. The BJP, piloted by Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis, is desperate to clip the Sena's wings especially because Sena supremo Uddhav Thackeray has been firing sharp salvoes at the BJP in general and not sparing even Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

More than 1.80 crore electorate are eligible to exercise their franchise in the zilla parishads and panchayat samitis while 1.95 crore urban voters will in the ten municipal corporations. "People are fed up with [state Chief Minister Devendra] Fadnavis' lies and inefficiency", Malik said.

Apart from Mumbai, the municipal corporations which went to the polls were Thane, Ulhasnagar, Nashik, Pune, Pimpri- Chinchwad, Solapur, Akola, Amravati and Nagpur.

Counting of votes for 132 wards of Thane Municipal Corporation underway;SS leading on 10 wards, NCP on 1 &.

However, the supporters of Congress leader and former MP Gurudas Kamat have been openly speaking against Sanjay Nirupam which might have hurt the party.

Though the Sena and BJP were allies since 1992 they are fought as main rivals in the civic polls.

This is the first time the fate of a state government could rest on the outcome of a municipal election, given the bitterness between the BJP and Shiv Sena in the run up to the polls.

Overall, 23 election officers, 23 assistant election officers and close to a thousand BMC employees helped carry out the process.

A generous dose of glamour, glitz and power play was visible in Mumbai at the 7,304 booths to elect 227 BMC corporators from among 2,275 candidates.

  • Leroy Wright