After an energised violent protest in TN assembly, DMK announces hunger strike

Rebel AIADMK MLAs supporting former Chief Minister O. Panneerselvam voted against the motion.

DMK MLA Tiruchi Siva said that a memorandum had been submitted to Governor Vidyasagar Rao against the vote of confidence that took place in the state assembly despite the absence of the Opposition. Next they appealed to Speaker P Dhanapal to conduct a secret ballot to enable free voting.

While watch and ward staff physically carried legislators, DMK MLAs resisted by whatever means they could.

An agitated Stalin, the DMK's working president, told the watch and ward staff that the members would harm themselves if they were taken out.

Their request for a secret vote has been rejected by the speaker.

Speaking to reporters he said: "The people of Tamil Nadu are happy".

Due to this continuous commotion by opposition MLAs during trust vote proceedings, the speaker left adjourning the Tamil Nadu assembly again, this time till 3pm this evening.

Palaniswami won the trust vote by a 122-11 margin after the eviction of DMK members and and walkout by its allies, amid stormy scenes during which mikes were uprooted, chairs toppled and sheets of papers torn and hurled around. He met the Governor Vidyasagar Rao and resumed his protest at Marina Beach, which has become the spot of dramatic twists since last few days. "Once the MLAs go back to their constituencies and face the public, changes would emerge leading to a shift in the internal dynamics of the ruling party", said N. Sathiya Moorthy, director of the Chennai chapter of think-tank Observer Research Foundation.

"We will brief the Governor on these rules and we have made a decision to seek justice through legal recourse".

DMK has argued that the trust vote is invalid becaus ethe trust vote was introduced twice in the house.

"Although the House was adjourned till 3 pm, around 2-2.30 pm, over 500 watch and ward staff forcefully evicted us from the House".

"I categorically say that this government has got absolute majority by securing 122 votes in favour of the motion of confidence..."

  • Leroy Wright