DMK's hunger strike on February 22 against what happened in TN assembly

The Palaniswami government won the trust vote with a comfortable margin of 122-11. However, Congress has indicated it will vote against the Palaniswami government.

They even demanded a secret ballot. This is a mockery of democracy and a severe blow to the Constitution. 122 legislators voted in favour of E Palaniswamy and 11 against.

Soon after Speaker P Dhanapal declared that Palaniswami had won the motion, MLAs on the Treasury Benches - who had kept quiet through the ruckus created by the DMK - erupted in joy, thumping their desks continuously for about a minute. But the trust vote may only be the first of many battles that the 63-year-old Chief Minister will have to fight.

Earlier on February 17, ahead of the confidence vote, O Panneerselvam camp met Assembly Speaker and urged him to have secret ballot for confidence vote.

DMK leader Stalin came out of Houe with torn clothes.

The DMK leader claimed that the Speaker "ignored the rule that if the House is adjourned after moving a motion, it lapses".

Sasikala removed O Panneerselvam from the party's primary membership in the wake of his revolt against her and on the day of the announcement of the verdict by the top court. "The motion of confidence moved by Mr. Palaniswami is adopted", he said, and adjourned the House sine die.

Panneerselvam said he had been insisting that a government desired by Jayalalaithaa should continue and expressed joy that among others, Mylapore MLA and former DGP R Nataraj had backed him.

Stalin and DMK members wanted to postpone the Vote of Confidence in Tamil Nadu Assembly.

Though the new government was given 15 days' time to prove majority in the House, Palaniswami, a known loyalist of AIADMK general secretary VK Sasikala Natarajan, opted to do it within two days, lest the MLAs change their minds.

On Feb. 17, the chief minister's support base was reduced by one legislator.

Sasikala is now in a jail in Bengaluru after being convicted in a corruption case.

The chief minister and 12 others were "expelled" for bringing "disrepute" to the party by going against its ideals and principles, he said.

  • Leroy Wright