Here's how to turn it off
- Author: Carolyn Briggs Sep 09, 2016,
Sep 09, 2016, 9:11
WhatsApp revealed the changes in a blogpost and said sharing more data would let it provide "more relevant" suggestions about who users should connect with. The leading service has over 1.1 billion monthly active users while Facebook's has 1.7 billion people. But if we have an opportunity to give background here, the point is that WhatsApp is owned by Facebook.
Time will tell if being part of Facebook will alter their stance on this, as well. "They continue on a campaign on to run roughshod on our privacy rights".
According to WhatsApp, the new policy will share the registered phone number and the last time the user had used the service.
But the giant social network has been looking for ways to make money from WhatsApp since it bought the service two years ago.
BDO went as far as to explain how persons can switch off the sharing feature in WhatsApp, even if they had accepted the updated Terms and Conditions.
WhatsApp has not yet made an official statement about the consumer feedback and the related news that have come out.
So are ads finally coming to WhatsApp?
"Share my WhatsApp account information with Facebook to improve my Facebook ads and products experiences". WhatsApp is sharing your phone number only with Facebook, not with any individual company. You will see a control at the bottom of the screen. The company has also promised that it will never share your phone number on Facebook.
The coordination of accounts may draw fire from privacy advocates.
It is to be seen whether WhatsApp's policy shift has the potential to affect its user-base. Once you choose not to share information with Facebook, you won't be able to change this setting in the future.
Now it has emerged that there is a hidden way of opting out of the terms, and ensuring that no data is sent over to Facebook.
WhatsApp says no messages or photos will be shared with Facebook, but they will "coordinate" more with Facebook and its group of companies. But remember, you will have to do within 30 days! "We're not creating accounts for people", the spokesperson said. "No data should be used unless people are informed honestly about how it's going to be used".